PDA

View Full Version : macbook air, love it or hate it?

chisau
02-18-2008, 03:04 AM
I work as a graphic arts technician so i work with Mac computers. My boss (been the tech loving rich guy he is) bough a macbook air and allow his employees test run it. I worked with the air for about 2 days and i have to say:

I hate it! :mad:

It's the slowest mac i ever work with. and i've worked with the mac mini. and the price for that thing is twice as the basic macbook. the wireless network is useless because everything that it can connect to, like wifi, is locked. It is even using the slow intel graphic chip that shares the ram with the processor. so all gaming of any kind is out. and i can't even burn customer files on DVDs for the customer. I know it says "Dual Core" but i'm sure the second core is sleeping or something, because it does not multi-task well at all.

What i'm saying is....Don't buy it.....if you want to buy it, do yourself a favour, buy a regular macbook, cover it with a brush aluminum skin and buy a larger envelope.

what's you experience with the air?

Benzo
02-18-2008, 12:56 PM
it looks very nice but I would never buy it. for that price I want an optical drive, at least 4 usb ports and an ethernet port.

QuadESL63
02-18-2008, 04:07 PM
the wireless network is useless because everything that it can connect to, like wifi, is locked.

Can you elaborate a little bit? What do you mean by "wireless network is useless because... is locked"?

It is even using the slow intel graphic chip that shares the ram with the processor. so all gaming of any kind is out.

All MacBooks use the cheap Intel integrated graphics chipset, unless you shell out the money for a MacBook Pro. I think it is gear towards people who want a ultra-portable light-weight notebook on the go who does not necessarily crave for brute force computing power with tons of peripherals included.