PDA

View Full Version : Age of Extinction Leader Class Optimus Prime Review

Omegatron
09-17-2014, 02:40 PM
So I wanted to take a stab at writing a review of a transformer. I’ve been collecting since 1984 with a break from about 1988 up to about 1998 and steadily since then. I’ve always been fascinated by the toys, what they do and how they are made. I suppose I just hope that the review is another way to appreciate them. I’m old school so this review will be text based.

To make things easy I’ve broken to review down into chunks and tried to explain where I’m coming from. Others may not care about the same things but at least they will know why I have reviewed a toy the way I have. Check it out and tell me what you think.

Biases, bases for the review and what I care about.

I’m an old G1 guy so I care more about certain types things than others. Basically, in order, I care about:

1) The appearance of the toy in Robot mode. This this is the mode I’ll most likely display it in so this is the mode I care about most. The only real exception is combiners where I care most about the appearance in combined mode.

2) The appearance of the toy in vehicle\ beast mode. This is a close second because a toy that does this poorly is really a one dimensional transformer and because the point of a transformer is to transform that costs it a lot of points.

3) The transformation. I don’t really care if a transformation is simple or complex, what I care about is how elegant and complete the transformation is. A toy with an interesting transformation which uses all of its pieces well in both modes will score well, one that’s too complex or too simple, cheats too much, or has lots of kibble will do less well.