PDA

View Full Version : Looking for relatively simple paint option

Polenicus
09-23-2008, 06:19 PM
I just recently picked up some really need weapons kits for my Alts... namely, these:

http://www.bigbadtoystore.com/images/products/out/large/KOT10276.jpg

They come in flat black plastic, and I'd like to give them a nice metallic silver paintjob, something relatively durable. I don't need to add weathering or small details, a simple silver on the blades will suit my purpose. It's like to leave the grips black if possible, to give the weapons some contrast.

Now, I've heard that there are 'paint pens' available, that are good for small detail work. Since I don't need much paint, getting one of these might be nice, as the leftover can be used to add some silver detail to other things. Or, I could just get a can of silver paint, and some sealer, but I know I need a type that's compatible with model plastic, or risk melting the things.

Any recommendations? This is my first try at painting, and I'm not so good with detail work where there's no 'undo' command, so simple is best.

Sonray
09-23-2008, 07:38 PM
Buy some enamel or acrylic paint and some matte sealer, get a brush and apply light coats. Wait for it to dry then apply the sealer. Job done.

frenzy_rumble
09-23-2008, 11:18 PM
with no experience, I'd recommend the paint pens, this is exactly what they are for.

if you want to use paint, I would recommend a small bottle of testor's enamel, which can be found at most craft and hobby shops. Get a good brush, and apply thin coats. Enamel silver will give you the result you want straight from the bottle. no need to but a sealant on metallic.... it will kill the flakes.

keep away from the spray cans, unless you practice several scrap parts first.

Nightshade83
09-24-2008, 11:37 AM
If you want a cheaper paint option, I would recommend metallic silver nail polish. It's relatively easy to find, and you can get it for as low as $2 a bottle.